The Lying Media

Can I just say I think it’s really amazing, the same people who constantly say “the media lies”, will still put forth obvious lies from the media. They even defend the lie while confronted with facts. Personally I try to live by this quote:

“You’re either the liar or the one being lied to, protect yourself from being either one.”
-Gerson Monago

Everyday I find myself alone in that common sense quote. What this suggests is people want to be lied to, especially when the lie agrees with them. In this logic, what if I told people that when the media is telling you they lie it’s a lie in itself?

That isn’t going to work for a great many people I’m sure, yet I’ve seen plenty of news casters tell us this. I have yet to find a trusted source for any news outlets, I havnt even found reason to trust my own local stations. Instead I have learned a good deal of discernment over the years of watching lies. There’s certain ‘cues’ I’ve noticed. These cues usually come when the headline says something entirely sensational or overtly liberal or even Fox news for the matter. While looking for multiple sources saying the same thing and still being aware of the term “Astroturfing” (seriously google the word Astroturfing). Yet it also comes with certain sources like say “politifact”- a site dedicated to tell you how to think and Obama is always apparently honest with minor half truths. There’s other ways but, If some of you have not learned discernment on your own after years of bombardment of lies, I could not help you.

Yes a lie is a lie even if it’s on the cover of New York Times, even when you want to believe that lie is true… It doesn’t change the fact contrary. What is worse it is crippling the entire country, in more ways then what’s obvious.

It is due to the fact every media lies constantly, we must always be open to be proven wrong. Do not berate someone when they rebuttal a news article you shared on facebook. Be a little more, “detached”. Unless of course they can’t disprove something.
I should expect the same treatment, it’s rare that ever happens but it ought to be more common place. I will not lie to you, it can take a lot of patience that not everyone has.

“Through thy precepts I get understanding: therefore I hate every false way.” – Psalm 119:104

There is no shortage of verses on lies in the bible, Psalm 119:104 has always stood out to me the most. What we are saying here in context is a couple things. First, lean not on your own understanding rather Gods which is truth. Second hate everything else that is a lie. For me I have found I am a rare person, I just hate lies I really do… whether they are petty lies, some kind of agenda lie, or some other lie. Even lies about Hitler rile my feathers, even though I don’t even like Hitler… This is just how God made me I guess, lies are my biggest peeve. Everything that is false is false and ought to not be repeated, and I do mean very literally EVERYTHING – even anti-Hitler people, even New York Times, even Alex Jones. With that knowledge it is impossible to always be honest because at every turn we are constantly lied to. The good news is I see no reason you will burn in hell over unknowingly repeating a lie, (the subject is atleast pretty debatable). You must always be open to reproof from someone else, though checking sources before sharing is also good practice. In our digital world with 24 hour lying news, really it isn’t as hard as you think to be honest and still keep up with headlines. At a certain point, you even develop a certain eye or skill at it, it just takes practice.

I would just finish this off with a side note or warning. I like many Christians am convinced we are moving to the end times. This stance of which I will tell you there are many blatant lies in eschatology. I know you’ve heard of false prophets as the first sign of the prophecy, but let me direct your attention elsewhere:

“And for this cause God shall send them strong delusion, that they should believe a lie: That they all might be damned who believed not the truth, but had pleasure in unrighteousness” 2 Thessalonians 2:11-12

I hate to quote just 2 sentences here because this entire particular chapter in Thessalonians is so relevant right now. However in bold you see “strong delusion”. Never in the history of the world has man been so readily deceived. I recommend a good long study on 2 Thessalonians chapter 2 to anyone interested in the world we live in.

Link to 2 Thessalonians 2 KJV:

https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=2+Thessalonians+2&version=KJV

Leave a Reply

