How to Describe an American–if You Aren’t

WordDreams...

If your novel deals only with Americans, skip this post.unknown american

If you’re in the POV of a foreign character who interacts with Americans, or if you’re showing the reaction of a foreigner to an American, read on.

When I introduced non-Americans into my novel, I realized quickly they didn’t seem authentic. So I started reading blogs and forums of foreigners, see how they talked and thought and the connections they made between events. Then, I morphed to their attitudes toward Americans and our stuff–our patriotism, work ethic, individuality, those things that we take for granted but the rest of the world finds odd. That’s where I found the core of my foreign characters.

View original post 813 more words

One thought on “How to Describe an American–if You Aren’t”

Leave a Reply

